The challenge of ‘it all’

It’s 6:00 A.M. and I’ve already finished my workout.
Ok, let me restart that. It’s 6:00 A.M, and for the first time in recent memory I finished an exercise routine before the cock crowed.

It hurts.

All this here studying and learning and applying of medicine has its effect on the ‘ol waistline. I knew it was bad when visiting one of my classmates from high school only to find that he and his newly-minted-doctor girlfriend had just come back from a run – requiring only ‘a stretch’ before some socialization.

Meanwhile I popped open my (second) can of ginger beer soda and mourned my slim-fit youth.

Last night, while discussing a video project for the AAMC with some MS-II’s (did I mention I’m a third-year now?) I found myself waxing nostalgic about ‘all the time’ I had first year. The discussion inevitably turned to lamentations over how many goals seemed unachievable while in the medical environment, and how the numerous mini skills being developed seemed oft-more attractive than the long term goal of serving the ill.

It’s a challenge to ‘do it all’, to write for a blog, eat healthy, maintain one’s mind, spirit, and body, date, learn new skills, read a book, watch breaking-bad/the newsroom, attend med school, care for friends/family, plan for a future, enact novel ideas, and…sleep.

Usually about this time I get a message from mom that says ‘I love you’ and realize-
These are first-world problems.

So I invite any and all wisdom on ‘balance’ and how to achieve it.
All I know is…it doesn’t get easier, you just get better.

Apptlychosen+Undetourred

Leave a Reply

